Illustrations from an Old Book

October 8, 2010 § 3 Comments

I picked these illustrations up at an antique store. The person that sold them to me said they were by an author and illustrator named Don Blanding. I haven’t read any of his work, it’s actually sad they were separated from his writing but they definitely stand on their own. I was instantly taken by the simplicity and beauty of them.

§ 3 Responses to Illustrations from an Old Book

  • Diana says:

    Nice find! I love these! They remind me of this silhouette print my mom got me that’s now hanging in our bedroom. Remind me to show you sometime.

  • Kelly says:

    Ok…did you alter these at all because that silhouette of the woman looks exactly like you! I can’t say I know what Johnny’s profile looks like but I was convinced they were the two of you…seriously…it looks just like you.
    I’m loving your blog Laura….
    Sending you lots of love bella.

  • laura says:

    Thanks…oooh I wish! Somewhere on a beautiful island by a big gigantic moon. Note to self: make the bottom illustration come true.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Illustrations from an Old Book at Laura Oster.

meta

